Shop by

Shop Online

Shopping Cart

Subtotal: $0.00

The arms were designed in 1862 by Prince Uelingatoni Ngu Tupou and are identical to the Royal arms.

The three stars in the first quarter represent the three main groups of islands in the kingdom: Tongatapu, Ha’apai and Vava’u. The kingdom itself is symbolised by the crown in the second quarter. The dove in the third quarter symbolises peace, unity and Christianity and the three swords in the last quarter symbolise the three Royal dynasties of Tu’i Tonga, Tu’i Ha’atakalaua and Tu’i Kanokupolu to which the actual royal house traces its descent. On a six-pointed star in the middle is the cross symbolizing the nation. The motto : "Koe otua mo Tonga ko hoku tofia" can be translated as 'From God and Tonga I descend'.

The flags are of the national flag of Tonga.

The garland around the crown is the symbol of the judicial authority of the chief in the time before the kingdom. The garland also represents the royal dependence of God’s grace.




Back to Top